Friday, January 17, 2014

CCW Renewal

I don't think Utah is going to let me renew my non-resident CCW next month.  They only seem to want to extend their license to people that have a license in their home state.  Since I can't provide them a copy of my Maryland CCW, not having one, they are wary to sanction my carry in other states besides MD.  

So, what to do?  Get a Virginia non resident permit.  I gotta jump through hoops, of course, but I don't need to drop $300 on another CCW training class.  A hunter safety course (who knows where my certificate for that is, but I got it somewhere...) is enough.  Or, a copy of my DD214.  My abbreviated career as a butter bar in the USN (no 'R') is fine.  I only earned two ribbons in the service, a National Defense Service ribbon for watching the first Gulf War on teevee, and a pistol marksmanship qualification using a WWII era 1911.  I don't need the pistol qual to get the VA CCW, but I figure that is nice icing on the cake.

Then a check, fingerprint this, notarize that, sign here in triplicate, and mail off the application.  Done and done.  I'll let you know how it goes.

Since the renewal of the Utah one is only $15, I did that renewal process, too.  Just in case I am reading the new regs wrong.  It was all online, provide my license number and upload a new picture, yada yada.   I'll let you, and, more importantly, my Maryland peeps, know how that goes as well.

2 comments:

Sean D Sorrentino said...

You're good, go ahead and renew. Here's what Utah says about out of state CHPs

"Non-resident proof of permit. If you reside in a state that recognizes the validity of the Utah CFP or has reciprocity with Utah, you must obtain a CFP or CCW from your home state and submit a copy of it with your application for a Utah permit. For a list of reciprocal states click here. Residency will be determined by your state-issued identification. If your state does not recognize the Utah permit this does not apply. "

Since you live in MD, which does not recognize the Utah CFP, you don't need to get one first.

http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/CFnewapp.html

Old NFO said...

Good luck!